Hazard Mitigation Assistance Grant Training Video

Mitigation Plan Grant Training Video

Mitigation Project Grant Training Videos

EHP Training Video

Procurement Training Video

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP)

Authorized under Section 404 of the Stafford Act, the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) provides grants to States and local governments to implement long-term hazard mitigation measures after a major disaster declaration.  The purpose of the program is to reduce the loss of life and property due to natural disasters and to enable mitigation measures to be implemented during the immediate recovery from a disaster declaration.

HMGP funding is only available to States following a Presidential disaster declaration. Eligible applicants are:

·         State and local governments

·         Indian tribes or other tribal organizations

·         Certain private non – profit organizations

Individual homeowners and businesses may not apply directly to the program; however a community may apply on their behalf. HMGP funds may be used to fund projects that will reduce or eliminate the losses from future disasters. Projects must provide a long-term solution to a problem, for example, elevation of a home to reduce the risk of flood damages as opposed to buying sandbags and pumps to fight the flood. In addition, a project’s potential savings must be more than the cost of implementing the project. Funds may be used to protect either public or private property or to purchase property that has been subjected to, or is in danger of, repetitive damage.

Public Assistance Program (PA)

The federal Public Assistance Grant Program administered by FEMA provides supplemental disaster grant assistance for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, replacement, or restoration of disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities after Major Disaster Declarations. DEM coordinates the program for the State of Utah.


Individual Assistance Program (IA)

Individual Assistance programs are designed to help meet disaster applicants’ sustenance, shelter, and medical needs during their path to recovery.

IA disaster assistance can include:

·         Mass Care and Emergency Assistance

·         Voluntary Agencies (VOLAG)

·         Individuals and Households Program (IHP)

·         Small Business Administration (SBA)

·         Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA)

·         Crisis Counseling Services

·         Disaster Legal Services (DLS)


Fire Management Assistance Grant Program (FMAG)

Fire Management Assistance is available to state, local and tribal governments for the mitigation, management, and control of fires on publicly or privately owned forests or grasslands, which threaten such destruction as would constitute a major disaster.